Nigerian Brethren President Inaugurates EYN 100th Anniversary Committee

By Zakariya Musa

Ekklesiyar Yan’uwa a Nigeria (EYN, the Church of the Brethren in Nigeria) was founded by the American Church of the Brethren in 1923 at Garkida, Nigeria, where it had its 75th anniversary in 1998. EYN president Joel S. Billi has inaugurated a 13-member committee for a 100 Years Anniversary of EYN-Church of the Brethren in Nigeria. This is coming less than one month after he assumed office as the EYN president, and is coming from a decision of the EYN National Executive Committee at its meeting held on April 12.

Photo by Zakariya Musa
Members of the National Standing Committee of Ekklesiyar Yan’uwa a Nigeria (EYN, the Church of the Brethren in Nigeria) with members of the 100 Years Anniversary planning committee, with EYN president Rev. Joel S. Billi seated in the middle.


The committee members include Daniel Y.C. Mbaya, the EYN general secretary; Asta Paul Thahal; Mala A. Gadzama; Sunday Aimu; Musa Pakuma; Rejoice Rufus; Ruth Gituwa; Dauda A. Gavva; and Ruth Daniel Yumuna. A Local History Writing Committee comprises four members: Philip A. Ngada, Daniel Banu, Lamar Musa Gadzama, and Samuel D. Dali who is the former EYN president. Some of the committee members were absent during the inauguration.

The anniversary committee was served with the following terms of reference:

1. Outline various activities that will portray the celebration.
2. Identify national and international guests that will be invited.
3. Outline the role of the special guest.
4. Outline and communicate to each DCC and LCC [local congregations and districts] their role and responsibilities in the planning of the celebration.
5. Outline the role and responsibilities of the EYN Headquarters officials.
6. Plan for a two-day lecture or symposium for the celebration.
7. Plan for accommodation for the entire group of gational and international guests.
8. Ensure that each partner involved is well informed of their roles and keep in touch to make sure they are taking their roles seriously.
9. Reporting to the EYN national leaders about the progress of the plan stage-by-stage.
10. Do any other thing that will enhance the successful celebration.
11. Work hand-in-hand with the Local History Writing Committee to ensure that the reflective history is well written for presentation at the celebration.

Lamar Musa Gadzama on behalf of the committee appreciated the leadership for giving them the opportunity to serve the church in this capacity. “I stand here to thank the people that have elected us. God help us to execute this exercise successfully,” he said.

The committee had their first meeting immediately after the inauguration and chose Lamar Musa Gadzama as chairman, Daniel Y.C. Mbaya as vice chairman, Mala A. Gadzama as secretary, and Daniel Banu as assistant secretary.


— Zakariya Musa serves on the communications staff of Ekklesiyar Yan’uwa a Nigeria (EYN, the Church of the Brethren in Nigeria).