Harvey Is Chosen as Moderator-Elect, More Election Results

224th Annual Conference of the Church of the Brethren

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania — July 5, 2010


In today’s business sessions, Tim Harvey, pastor of Roanoke (Va.) Central Church of the Brethren, was chosen as Annual Conference moderator-elect. The Nominating Committee of the Standing Committee of district delegates developed the slate of candidates, and Standing Committee voted to create the ballot that was presented to the 2010 delegate body.

As moderator-elect of Annual Conference, Harvey will serve for the next year in the second-highest elected position in the Church of the Brethren, assisting 2011 moderator Robert Alley to lead the Conference next year. In 2010 Harvey will serve in the highest elected position in the church as moderator of the 2012 Annual Conference.

Having grown up in Broadway, Va., his home congregation is Bethel Church of the Brethren in Broadway, Va. He holds a bachelor of science degree in chemistry from Virginia Tech and a master of divinity from Eastern Mennonite Seminary. He is an ordained minister and his pastoral career also has included service as youth minister/associate pastor at Dayton (Va.) Church of the Brethren, and as pastor at New Hope Church of the Brethren in Stuart, Va.

He was a member of the Church of the Brethren General Board, 2003-08, and chair of the board from 2007-08. He currently is chair of Congregations in Action, an interfaith group of nine Roanoke congregations partnering in a local, public elementary school. He and his wife Lynette have three children, Emily, Zachary, and Rose.

In other election results,

Annual Conference Program and Arrangements Committee: Eric Bishop of Pomona, Calif.

Pastoral Compensation and Benefits Advisory Committee: Mark Doramus of Middleton, Idaho.

Committee on Interchurch Relations: Christina Singh of Panora, Iowa.

Mission and Ministry Board: Area 1Pamela Reist of Mount Joy, Pa.; Area 4 — Tim Peter of Prairie City, Iowa; Area 5 — Gilbert Romero of Los Angeles, Calif.

Bethany Theological Seminary Trustee: representing the clergy — John David Bowman of Lititz, Pa.; representing the laity — Lynn Myers of Rocky Mount, Va.

Brethren Benefit Trust Board: Wayne T. Scott of Harrisburg, Pa.

On Earth Peace Board: Gail Erisman Valeta of Denver, Colo.

The News Team for the 2010 Annual Conference includes writers Karen Garrett, Frank Ramirez, Frances Townsend; photographers Kay Guyer, Justin Hollenberg, Keith Hollenberg, Glenn Riegel; website staff Amy Heckert and Jan Fischer Bachman; and news director and editor Cheryl Brumbaugh-Cayford. Contact cobnews@brethren.org .

Go to www.brethren.org/Newsline to subscribe to the Church of the Brethren Newsline free e-mail news service and receive church news every other week.

[gt-link lang="en" label="English" widget_look="flags_name"]