Office of the General Secretary

David A. Steele, general secretary

Related news

Church of the Brethren signs 'Faith Statement on Escalating Violence with Iran' (January 4, 2020)

Church of the Brethren signs 'Faith Statement on Escalating Violence with Iran' Read more »

Denominational Leadership Team issues response regarding the Covenant Brethren Church (November 21, 2019)

The following is a statement from the Leadership Team of the Church of the Brethren, made up of the Annual Conference officers--moderator Paul Mundey, moderator-elect David Sollenberger, and secretary James Beckwith--along with general secretary David Steele and Cindy Sanders representing the Council of District Executives: Read more »

Mission and Ministry Board approves 2020 budget for denominational ministries (October 24, 2019)

The 2020 budget for denominational ministries was a key item at fall meetings of the Church of the Brethren Mission and Ministry Board on Oct. 17-21 at the General Offices in Elgin, Ill. Meetings were led by chair Patrick Starkey, assisted by chair-elect Carl Fike and general secretary David Steele. Read more »

The gift continues: Puerto Rican Brethren host celebration of Heifer’s 75th anniversary (October 11, 2019)

The 75th anniversary of Heifer International was celebrated Oct. 5, in Castañer, P.R., hosted by Puerto Rico District of the Church of the Brethren, the Castañer congregation, and Castañer Hospital. Puerto Rico was the destination of the very first shipment of animals made by the Church of the Brethren’s Heifer Project in 1944. Read more »

Brethren Faith in Action Fund allocates grants to eight churches (September 26, 2019)

The Brethren Faith in Action Fund has given eight grants to outreach ministry projects of Church of the Brethren congregations since the first of the year. These grants are given to projects that serve the community, strengthen the congregation, and expand the reign of God. Read more »