Annual Conference ballot for 2020 is announced

Paul Liepelt and Tim McElwee are candidates for moderator-elect in 2020

The Annual Conference office has announced the ballot to be presented at this summer’s Conference on July 1-5 in Grand Rapids, Mich. Topping the ballot are two candidates for Annual Conference moderator-elect: Paul Liepelt and Tim McElwee. Candidates for numerous additional offices also have been announced.

Paul Liepelt is a pastor at Annville (Pa.) Church of the Brethren, and lives in Annville. He is on the executive committee of the denomination’s Mission and Ministry Board; his term ends during the 2020 Conference. In past experience on the denominational staff, he taught at Kulp Bible College in Nigeria for three years 2004-2007. He is an ordained minister and holds a master of divinity degree from Bethany Theological Seminary.

Tim McElwee lives in Wolcottville, Ind. Now retired, his leadership experience in the Church of the Brethren includes a number of roles at Manchester University over more than 30 years, including vice president for advancement, vice president for academic resources, and associate professor of peace studies. While an ordained minister he served as Manchester’s campus pastor and later as a chaplain at Timbercrest, a Church of the Brethren retirement community. In the 1990s he was denominational staff in Washington, D.C. He also has worked as senior director of development for Heifer International. He holds a master of divinity degree from Bethany Seminary and a master’s degree and doctorate from Purdue University.

Additional nominations:

Annual Conference Program and Arrangements Committee: Beth Jarrett of Harrisonburg, Va., and Walt Wiltschek of Easton, Md.

Pastoral Compensation and Benefits Advisory Committee, representing laity: Richard E. Allison of Claysburg, Pa., and Arthur Fourman of Dayton, Ohio.

Mission and Ministry Board, Area 1: Josiah Ludwick of Harrisburg, Pa., and Mandy North of Manassas, Va. Area 4: Daniel L. Butler of Grundy Center, Iowa, and Kathy A. Mack of Rochester, Minn.

Bethany Seminary trustees representing clergy: Chris Bowman of Manassas, Va., and Frances R. Townsend of Onekama, Mich. Representing laity: Irene Beltran of Pomona, Calif., and Jacki Hartley of Elgin, Ill.

Brethren Benefit Trust board: Janis Fahs of North Manchester, Ind., and David L. Shissler of Hummelstown, Pa.

On Earth Peace board: Erick Flores of Hermitage, Tenn., and Drew G. I. Hart of Harrisburg, Pa.

For more information about the Annual Conference go to .

[gt-link lang="en" label="English" widget_look="flags_name"]