Preachers for the 2020 Annual Conference are announced

2020 Annual Conference Logo

The Annual Conference Program and Arrangements Committee has released the names of those preaching for the daily worship services at the 2020 Annual Conference of the Church of the Brethren. The Conference takes place in Grand Rapids, Mich., on July 1-5.

In related news, the 2020 Conference will devote significant time to spiritual engagement around a proposed compelling vision for the Church of the Brethren. “The Annual Conference officers feel such a process is crucial to provide delegates ample, prayerful space as they move toward an affirmation of a compelling vision for the denomination,” said an announcement from the Conference office. “Though other business will be entertained, no polity/structural changes will be considered. It is the discernment of the Annual Conference officers that such items are best considered after the 2020 Annual Conference, after a compelling vision has been determined.”

Annual Conference preachers for 2020

On the opening evening of the Conference, Wednesday July 1, the sermon will be brought by Annual Conference moderator Paul Mundey of Frederick, Md.

Thursday evening’s preacher on July 2 will be Richard Zapata of Anaheim, Calif., a pastor of Santa Ana Principe de Paz Church of the Brethren.

On Friday evening, July 3, the sermon will be given by sister-and-brother team Chelsea Goss and Tyler Goss of Mechanicsville, Va., and Harrisonburg, Va., respectively.

Saturday evening’s sermon on July 4 will be preached by Beth Sollenberger, executive minister for South Central Indiana District.

The closing sermon of the Conference on Sunday morning, July 5, will be given by Patrick Starkey of Cloverdale, Va., who is chair of the denomination’s Mission and Ministry Board.

For more information about Annual Conference go to .

[gt-link lang="en" label="English" widget_look="flags_name"]