Today at Annual Conference – Sunday

Photo by Glenn Riegel
A Conference quilt showcases the logo for 2012 and the Brethren tagline, Continuing the Work of Jesus.

Quotes of the day

“To walk with your eyes on the horizon is to discover life is all around you.” —Bob Neff presenting the morning Bible study

“Reconciliation wins. Whenever we are on the path from brokenness to reconciliation we are on the King’s Highway.” – Moderator Tim Harvey preaching for Sunday morning worship

“We are strong enough that our conflicts will not undo us. We do not approach anything from opposite sides of the spectrum because we are already on the same side because of our baptism.” – Moderator Tim Harvey preaching for Sunday morning worship

“Some fear the current conflict over homosexuality will tear the church apart. I think we Brethren can work through the current controversy.” — Guy Wampler speaking for the Brethren press and Messenger Dinner. The title of his presentation was, “What Holds Brethren Together.”

By the numbers

20-plus — the number of years since a president of the University of La Verne (ULV) has attended an Annual Conference. This year, the new president of ULV, Devorah Lieberman, spoke for an alumni luncheon.

200-plus — the number of volunteers it takes to make an Annual Conference happen.

5 is the number of new fellowships and congregations welcomed in 2012: Renacer Iglesia Cristiana in Leola, Pa.; Rockford (Ill.) Community Church of the Brethren; Sanford (Maine) Fellowship; Nuevo Amanacer Church of the Brethren in Bethlehem, Pa.; and Sierra Bayamon Iglesia de los Hermanos in Puerto Rico.

$8,526.96 received in Sunday morning’s offering

1,822 in attendance in worship on Sunday morning

Muzak choice of the day

When Conference-goers call the special phone number to connect with the Ministry of Reconciliation teams at this Annual Conference, the music they will hear during a short period on hold is “I Did It My Way.”

The 2012 Annual Conference news team includes: photographers Glenn Riegel, Regina Holmes, Debbie Surin, Alysson Wittmeyer; writers Don Fitzkee, Mandy Garcia, Karen Garrett, Randy Miller, Frank Ramirez, Frances Townsend; “Conference Journal” editor Eddie Edmonds; web staff Amy Heckert and Don Knieriem; and Cheryl Brumbaugh-Cayford, editor and director of News Services for the Church of the Brethren.

[gt-link lang="en" label="English" widget_look="flags_name"]