Council of District Executives meets

By Walt Wiltschek

The Church of the Brethren Council of District Executives (CODE) met July 2-4, prior to the start of Annual Conference in Cincinnati. The agenda this year included conversations with various denominational agencies and programs, a consultation time with the Standing Committee of district delegates, discussion of some of the items coming to this year’s Conference business sessions, and approval of a 2024 budget and a new dues structure.

Bill Waugh, who began a three-year term as chair of CODE last summer, is completing his service as Southern Pennsylvania district executive minister this fall and will be leaving the council. Kris Hawk, district executive minister of Northern Ohio District, was called to complete his term as chair. Walt Wiltschek, district executive minister of Illinois/Wisconsin, was called to a new position of chair-elect, serving two years in that role before continuing for two years as chair.

Other elections approved included Daniel Rudy, district executive minister of Virlina, for a three-year term on CODE’s executive training and development committee, and Jose Calleja Otero, district executive minister for Puerto Rico, to a new three-year term on the Ministry Issues Committee.

Some members of CODE joined Standing Committee for a Sunday afternoon tour of the nearby National Underground Railroad Freedom Center, with a time of debriefing afterwards. Times of worship also permeated the meetings, and an evening dinner event celebrated three district executive ministers who retired in the past year: Beth Sollenberger Morphew (South/Central Indiana and Michigan), David Shumate (Virlina), and Gene Hagenberger (Mid-Atlantic).

[gt-link lang="en" label="English" widget_look="flags_name"]