Paul Mundey to serve as moderator-elect of Annual Conference

Church of the Brethren Newsline
July 5, 2018

The 2018 Annual Conference business session. Photo by Glenn Riegel.

In election results today, the Annual Conference chose Paul Mundey of Frederick, Md., as moderator-elect. He will serve as moderator-elect for one year, and then in 2020 he will serve as moderator of the Annual Conference.

For the latest Brethren news go to the main Newsline page

Mundey is an ordained minister who is retired from a longterm pastorate at Frederick Church of the Brethren. Previously he served on the denominational staff in the areas of evangelism and church growth, and was a developer of Passing on the Promise. He also is a writer and a consultant, has served on the board of Bridgewater (Va.) College, and has been a speaker for Annual Conference and National Youth Conference as well as National Older Adult Conference. Recently, he was a visiting scholar at Princeton Seminary.

Following are more election results:

Annual Conference Program and Arrangements Committee: Emily Shonk Edwards of Nellysford, Va., and Staunton (Va.) Church of the Brethren

Pastoral Compensation and Benefits Advisory Committee: Deb Oskin of Columbus, Ohio, and Living Peace Church of the Brethren in Powell, Ohio

Mission and Ministry Board, Area 2LaDonna Sanders Nkosi of Chicago, Ill., and the Gathering Chicago; Area 3: Carol Yeazell of Asheville, N.C., and HIS Way/Jesucristo el Camino Church of the Brethren in Hendersonville, N.C.

Bethany Seminary board of trustees, representing clergy: Audrey Hollenberg-Duffey of Hagerstown, Md., and Hagerstown Church of the Brethren; representing laity: Louis Harrell (incumbent) of Manassas, Va., and Manassas Church of the Brethren

Brethren Benefit Trust board of directors: Shelley Kontra of Lancaster, Pa., and Hempfield Church of the Brethren in Manheim, Pa.

On Earth Peace board: Jennifer Keeney Scarr of Trotwood, Ohio, and Trotwood Church of the Brethren

Board-elected and constituency-elected directors and trustees affirmed by and reported to the Conference:

Mission and Ministry Board: Joel Peña of Lancaster, Pa., and Alpha and Omega Church of the Brethren

Bethany Seminary board of trustees: Cathy Simmons Huffman of Rocky Mount, Va., and Germantown Brick Church of the Brethren; and Katherine Melhorn of Wichita, Kan., and Wichita First Church of the Brethren

Brethren Benefit Trust board of directors: Eunice Erb Culp of Goshen, Ind., and West Goshen Church of the Brethren; and Dennis W. Kingery of San Diego, Calif., and Prince of Peace Church of the Brethren

Nominated by the Annual Conference officers and affirmed by the Conference:

Leadership Team, district executive member: Cindy Sanders, district executive of Missouri and Arkansas District

— For more information about Annual Conference go to .

The news coverage of Annual Conference 2018 is made possible through the work of communications staff and a volunteer news team: Frank Ramirez, Conference Journal editor; photographers Glenn Riegel, Regina Holmes, Keith Hollenberg, Donna Parcell, Laura Brown; writers Frances Townsend, Karen Garrett, Alyssa Parker; youth team member Allie Dulabaum; web staff Jan Fischer Bachman, Russ Otto; Cheryl Brumbaugh-Cayford, director of News Services; Wendy McFadden, publisher. Contact

Go to to subscribe to the Church of the Brethren Newsline free e-mail news service and receive church news every week.

[gt-link lang="en" label="English" widget_look="flags_name"]