Annual Conference welcomes new projects, fellowships, and congregations

Church of the Brethren Newsline
July 5, 2018

Photo by Glenn Riegel.

New congregations received this recognition from Discipleship Ministries (formerly Congregational Life Ministries) during a breakfast held in their honor. The symbolism of a telescope and compass shares the denomination’s prayer for God’s guidance and light.

Ten new worshiping groups located in six districts across the denomination were welcomed by the 2018 Annual Conference. They include two new congregations, two new fellowships, and six new projects.

Pastors or other representatives of the new groups and their district executives were recognized during the first business session of the Conference, and a breakfast was held for them hosted by Discipleship Ministries (formerly Congregational Life Ministries).

The new groups are:


GraceWay Church of the Brethren, Dundalk, Md., in Mid-Atlantic District, led by pastor Yakubu Bakfwash

Iglesia Cristiana Renacer Church of the Brethren, Roanoke, Va., in Virlina District, led by pastor Daniel D’Oleo


Iglesia del Buen Pastor (Church of the Good Shepherd), Blacksburg, Va., in Virlina District, led by pastors Raul and Lidia Gonzalez

Joyful Church Fellowship, Garrett, Pa., in Western Pennsylvania District, led by pastor Timothy Vaughn


Centro Agape en Acción, Los Banos, Calif., in Pacific Southwest District, led by pastors Rigo and Margie Berumen

Church of the Table, Chicago, Ill., in Illinois and Wisconsin District, led by pastor Joshua Longbrake

Iglesia Cristiana Elohim, Las Vegas, Nev., in Pacific Southwest District, led by pastor Luz Roman

Nuevo Comienzo (New Beginning), St. Cloud, Fla., in Atlantic Southeast District, led by pastor Fausto Carrasco

Parables Community, Lombard, Ill., in Illinois and Wisconsin District, led by pastor Jeanne Davies

The Gathering Chicago, Chicago, Ill., in Illinois and Wisconsin District, led by pastor LaDonna Nkosi Sanders

For more onsite coverage of Annual Conference go to .

The news coverage of Annual Conference 2018 is made possible through the work of communications staff and a volunteer news team: Frank Ramirez, Conference Journal editor; photographers Glenn Riegel, Regina Holmes, Keith Hollenberg, Donna Parcell, Laura Brown; writers Frances Townsend, Karen Garrett, Alyssa Parker; youth team member Allie Dulabaum; web staff Jan Fischer Bachman, Russ Otto; Cheryl Brumbaugh-Cayford, director of News Services; Wendy McFadden, publisher. Contact

Go to to subscribe to the Church of the Brethren Newsline free e-mail news service and receive church news every week.

[gt-link lang="en" label="English" widget_look="flags_name"]