Thirteen to Graduate from Bethany Theological Seminary

Bethany Theological Seminary will hold its 108th commencement in Nicarry Chapel on the seminary campus in Richmond, Ind., at 10 a.m. Saturday, May 11. Eleven master of divinity degrees will be conferred along with one master of arts degree and one Certificate of Achievement in Theological Studies. Admittance to the academic ceremony is by ticket only.

The commencement speaker will be J. Nelson Kraybill, lead pastor at Prairie Street Mennonite Church in Elkhart, Ind., and president-elect of Mennonite World Conference. With his “Dry Bones” teaching ministry, Kraybill is a frequent speaker in church and academic settings. The theme of his address will be “Who Is Worthy to Open the Scroll?” (Revelation 5:1-10).

A service of worship and blessing at 2:30 p.m. May 11 in Nicarry Chapel, will be open to the public. Planned and led by the graduates, the service will include reflections by Erik Brummett and Robert Miller on the scripture text Isaiah 55.

The commencement ceremony and the worship service will be webcast live, go to .

The following degrees and certificate will be conferred:

Master of Divinity: Laura Beth Arendt, Gettysburg, Pa.; Amy Marie Beery, Indianapolis, Ind.; Glenn A. Brumbaugh, Camp Hill, Pa.; Erik Charles Brummett, Indianapolis, Ind.; Mary Alice Eller, Richmond, Ind.; Daniel J. Finkbiner, Bethel, Pa.; Andrew Graves, Lakeland, Fla.; Dylan James Haro, La Verne, Calif.; Robert Miller, Indianapolis, Ind.; Patricia Louise Owen, Batavia, Ill.; Terry Alan Scott, Pleasant Plain, Ohio.

Master of Arts: Elizabeth Ann Thorpe, Chambersburg, Pa.

Certificate of Achievement in Theological Studies: Michael V. Smith, Pendleton, Ind.

— Jenny Williams is director of Communications and Alumni/ae Relations for Bethany Theological Seminary.

[gt-link lang="en" label="English" widget_look="flags_name"]