Annual Conference Bits and Pieces

224th Annual Conference of the Church of the Brethren

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania — July 2, 2010

Mission and Ministry Board announces new leadership

The Church of the Brethren Mission and Ministry Board has announced new members of its Executive Committee, and new appointments to other committees of the board and Annual Conference.

Quotes of the Day

–A sign at the registration table for children’s activities says it all: Welcome to Annual Conference!

“Welcome to our neighborhood!”
–Western Pennsylvania District executive minister Ron Beachley to the Standing Committee of district delegates

“Perhaps Pittsburgh’s Mr. Rogers had it right when he said, ‘Will you be my neighbor?’ You are free to try it out!”
–Western Pennsylvania District delegate Roger Forry in devotions to begin one of the days of Standing Committee pre-Conference meetings

“The Spirit is moving among the Brethren, and we have the opportunity to be the church we’re meant to be.”
–Annual Conference moderator Shawn Flory Replogle, speaking to the Standing Committee of district delegates during pre-Conference meetings

“I ask for your prayers…that we might speak peace in a manner that all might pursue it.”
–Stan Noffsinger, general secretary of the Church of the Brethren, in a note to Standing Committee about a meeting at the White House that Noffsinger was invited to attend that same day, July 1. He was one of a group of church leaders who were invited to discuss Israel and Palestine with Denis McDonough, National Security Council Chief of Staff to President Obama.

Board members Andy Hamilton and Barb Davis have been named at-large members of the Executive Committee. Dale Minnich continues as chair of the board and Ben Barlow continues as chair-elect. The other two members of the Executive Committee serve ex-officio: Stan Noffsinger, general secretary, and Robert Alley, Annual Conference moderator for 2011.

In other appointments, board member Terry Lewis has been named to the Mission and Ministry Planning Council; board member Colleen Michael has been named to the Board Development Committee; and LeAnn Wine, executive director of Systems and Services for the Church of the Brethren, has been named to the Program Feasibility Committee of Annual Conference.

Online registration is open for 2011 nominations

In an announcement from Standing Committee’s Nominating Committee, the online registration process already is in place for nominations to church offices open in 2011.

Go to
 to find a form to nominate a person for an office. Or if you have been nominated for an office, go to the same webpage to find the Nominee Information form you will need to fill out.

For more information about the nomination and election process, contact the Annual Conference staff at 800-323-8039.


The News Team for the 2010 Annual Conference includes writers Karen Garrett, Frank Ramirez, Frances Townsend; photographers Kay Guyer, Justin Hollenberg, Keith Hollenberg, Glenn Riegel; website staff Amy Heckert and Jan Fischer Bachman; and news director and editor Cheryl Brumbaugh-Cayford. Contact .

Go to to subscribe to the Church of the Brethren Newsline free e-mail news service and receive church news every other week.

[gt-link lang="en" label="English" widget_look="flags_name"]