Worship Bulletin

223rd Annual Conference of the Church of the Brethren
San Diego, California — June 27, 2009


6:50 – 7:10 p.m. Gathering Music

7:05 – 7:15 p.m. Announcements

7:15 p.m.  Prelude “Dem Dry Bones” (Douglas Floyd Smith)
(from Ezekiel 37:1-13)

*Call to Worship

*Invocation Prayer

*Hymn “Breathe Upon Us, Holy Spirit”

Call to Offering and Prayer of Dedication

Offertory Music “Our Family” (J. Washington, S. Pink/Washington)

Scripture Reading Ephesians 1:10-22

Choir Anthem “I See a New World Coming” (Steve Engel)
(Congregation joins singing as directed)

Video “One Thousand Questions”

Message “The Risk of Holy Ground”

Special Music “Stand” (Lorraine Ferro, Tanya Leah, Joanne Sonderling)

Closing Word

*Hymn “My Life Flows On”


*Postlude “Gothique Menuet” (from “The Gothique Suite” by Leon Boellmann)

Worship Leader – Sue Daniel
Scripture Reader – Donald Morrison
Preacher – Dick Shreckhise
Worship Coordinator – Scott Duffey
Music Coordinator – Erin Matteson
Choir Director – Stephen Reddy
Best Friends – James Washington Sr., Sandra A. Pink Washington, Don Mitchell, Larry Brumfield, Thomas Dowdy, Greg Clark, Joe Green
Soloist – Linsey Wildey
Organ – Anna Grady
Piano – Dan Masterson
Vocals – Cathy Iacuelli, Dawn Hunn, Andy Lahman
Acoustic guitar/electric guitar – Dawn Hunn
Acoustic guitar – John Layman
Guitar/bass – Mo Iacuelli
Cello – Emily Matteson
Saxophone – Thomas Dowdy
Percussion – Yvonne Riege
Drums – Dylan Haro

The News Team for the 2009 Annual Conference includes writers Karen Garrett, Frank Ramirez, Frances Townsend, Melissa Troyer, Rich Troyer; photographers Kay Guyer, Justin Hollenberg, Keith Hollenberg, Glenn Riegel, Ken Wenger; staff Becky Ullom and Amy Heckert. Cheryl Brumbaugh-Cayford, editor. Contact

[gt-link lang="en" label="English" widget_look="flags_name"]