Worship Bulletin

223rd Annual Conference of the Church of the Brethren

San Diego, California — June 30, 2009

10:00-10:10 a.m. Gathering Music

10:10-10:15 a.m. Announcements

10:15 a.m. Prelude “Holy, Holy, Holy: A Duet for Piano and Organ” (Dan Miller)

Call to the Gathered

Centering Prayer

The lighting of candles was a potent symbol of the presence of the Spirit during the closing worship service of the 2009 Annual Conference.
Photo by Glenn Riegel

A Litany
     Congregational response: Many Gifts – One Spirit! Muchos Dones – Un Espíritu!

Praising “I Sing the Mighty Power of God,” “Cantemos al Senor,” “Praise the Lord, Sing Hallelujah”


A Story of Blessing told by Vicki Minyard

Hymn “I Want Jesus to Walk with Me”

Offering Our Gifts

Offertory “Paraphrase and Chorale Prelude on Prayer and Praise” (John G. Barr)

Choir Anthem “Many Gifts One Spirit” (Allen Pote)

Ancient Words 1 Corinthians12:4-14, 27-31; 13:1-2

Word for Today “Together in Unity Though Uniquely Diverse”

Hymn “They’ll Know We Are Christians”

Jaime Diaz, pastor of Castaner (P.R.) Church of the Brethren, preached the closing sermon on unity and diversity.
Photo by Glenn Riegel


Hymn “Go Now in Peace”

Postlude “Organ Toccata and Fugue in F Major” (Dietrich Buxtehude)

Worship Leader – Valentina Satvedi
Preacher – Jaime Diaz
Worship Coordinator – Scott Duffey
Music Coordinator – Erin Matteson
Choir Director – Stephen Reddy
Organ – Anna Grady
Piano – Dan Masterson
Vocals – Cathy Iacuelli, Dawn Hunn, Andy Lahman
Acoustic guitar/electric guitar – Dawn Hunn
Acoustic guitar – John Layman
Guitar/bass – Mo Iacuelli
Cello – Emily Matteson
Saxophone – Thomas Dowdy
Percussion – Yvonne Riege
Drums – Dylan Haro


Worship leadership for the closing service included (from right) worship leader Valentina Satvedi, preacher Jaime Diaz, and Vicki Minyard, who shared a testimony of blessing. Photo by Ken Wenger


Three young adults brought symbols of new life into worship, during a closing service focused on diversity and unity.
Photo by Ken Wenger

The News Team for the 2009 Annual Conference includes photographers Ken Wenger, Glenn Riegel, Kay Guyer, Justin Hollenberg, Keith Hollenberg; writers Karen Garrett, Frank Ramirez, Frances Townsend, Melissa Troyer, Rich Troyer; staff Becky Ullom and Amy Heckert. Cheryl Brumbaugh-Cayford, editor. Contact

[gt-link lang="en" label="English" widget_look="flags_name"]