Worship Bulletin

223rd Annual Conference of the Church of the Brethren
San Diego, California — June 29, 2009


6:45 – 7:05 p.m. Gathering Music

7:05 – 7:15 p.m. Announcements

7:15 p.m. Prelude “Alleluia” (Randall Thompson, arr. Norma Sexton)

Silent Meditation
“O Lord our God, grant us grace to desire you with our whole heart,
that so desiring, we may seek you;
and so finding, we may love you;
and loving you, we may hate those sins
from which you have redeemed us;
for the sake of Jesus Christ.  Amen.” (Anselm of Canterbury, A.D. 1109)

Children’s Choir “The Jesus in Me Loves the Jesus in You,” “Let Your Spirit Rise Within Me,” “When Jesus
Said” (Chorus), “The Jesus Way”

*Hymn of Praise “Oh, for a Thousand Tongues to Sing”

Video from the Dominican Church 


*Responsive Reading Psalm 51
One: Let us respond with David’s words:
All: Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me.
 One: Cast me not away from thy presence, and take not thy Holy Spirit from me.
All: Restore unto me the joy of thy salvation, and uphold me with a willing spirit.
One: Then will I teach transgressors thy ways, and sinners shall be converted unto thee, even as I am
delivered from my guilt.
 All: Now, Lord, allow me to open my lips, and my mouth will fill with your praises. Praise will be my sacrifice
to you, for you delight in the humble and honest heart.

Conference Choir “We Are Not Alone” (Pepper Choplin)

Evening Prayer

Offering Invitation and Prayer of Dedication

Offertory “Adagio in G Minor” (Tomaso Albinoni)

*Hymn “Lord, You Have Come to the Lakeshore”

Dramatic Reading Adaptation of John 21 and Mark 12:29-30

Hymn Response “Dios, Quiero Ser Como Tu”

Sermon “How Deep Is Your Love?”

*Hymn “Blessed Be Your Name” (Matt and Beth Redman)


*Postlude “In Dulci Jubilo” (Dietrich Buxtehude)

Worship Leader – Joe Vecchio
Preacher – Nancy Heishman
Worship Coordinator – Scott Duffey
Music Coordinator – Erin Matteson
Choir Director – Stephen Reddy
Cello Quintet – Emily Matteson, Kristin Montgomery, Norma Sexton, Kevin Shim, Kristen Shim
Organ – Anna Grady
Piano – Dan Masterson
Vocals – Cathy Iacuelli, Dawn Hunn, Andy Lahman
Acoustic guitar/electric guitar – Dawn Hunn
Acoustic guitar – John Layman
Guitar/bass – Mo Iacuelli
Saxophone – Thomas Dowdy
Percussion – Yvonne Riege
Drums – Dylan Haro
Flute – Emily Tyler

The News Team for the 2009 Annual Conference includes writers Karen Garrett, Frank Ramirez, Frances Townsend, Melissa Troyer, Rich Troyer; photographers Kay Guyer, Justin Hollenberg, Keith Hollenberg, Glenn Riegel, Ken Wenger; staff Becky Ullom and Amy Heckert. Cheryl Brumbaugh-Cayford, editor. Contact

[gt-link lang="en" label="English" widget_look="flags_name"]