Annual Conference Chooses Robert E. Alley as Moderator-Elect

223rd Annual Conference of the Church of the Brethren
San Diego, California — June 28, 2009

Elections for leadership positions in the denomination were held today during the afternoon business session. The delegate body called Robert Earl Alley of Harrisonburg, Va., as moderator-elect for 2010 and moderator for 2011.

Alley is pastor of Bridgewater (Va.) Church of the Brethren. He will serve next year assisting the 2010 Annual Conference moderator Shawn Flory Replogle, pastor of McPherson (Kan.) Church of the Brethren.

Other election results:

Program and Arrangements Committee: Victoria Jean (Sayers) Smith of Elizabethtown, Pa.

Pastoral Compensation and Benefits Advisory Committee: Tim Button-Harrison of Ames, Iowa

— Committee on Interchurch Relations: Jim Hardenbrook of Edinburg, Va.

Bethany Theological Seminary Trustee representing the colleges: David Witkovsky of Huntingdon, Pa.

Brethren Benefit Trust Board: Carol Hess of Lancaster, Pa.

On Earth Peace Board: David R. Miller of Dayton, Va.

The following appointments have been confirmed, in business sessions through June 28:

Brethren Benefit Trust Board: Carol Ann Greenwood of Walkersville, Md., and Donna Forbes Steiner of Landisville, Pa.

On Earth Peace Board: James S. Replogle of Bridgewater, Va., and Robbie Miller of Bridgewater, Va.

Appointments to the Bethany Theological Seminary Board of Trustees are still to be confirmed by the Conference. This year there are no appointments to the Church of the Brethren’s Mission and Ministry Board.

In addition, the Conference made decisions on two items of new business, “A Statement of Confession and Commitment” and “Query: Language on Same-Sex Covenantal Relationships” (see separate story); and received the report of the Church of the Brethren’s Mission and Ministry Board.

–Cheryl Brumbaugh-Cayford is director of News Services for the Church of the Brethren.

The News Team for the 2009 Annual Conference includes photographers Glenn Riegel, Ken Wenger, Justin Hollenberg, Keith Hollenberg, Kay Guyer; writers Karen Garrett, Frank Ramirez, Frances Townsend, Melissa Troyer, Rich Troyer; staff Becky Ullom and Amy Heckert. Cheryl Brumbaugh-Cayford, editor. Contact

[gt-link lang="en" label="English" widget_look="flags_name"]