Annual Conference Committees Meet, Set New Guidelines, Structure 2006 Ballot

Two committees of the Church of the Brethren Annual Conference met recently, the Nominating Committee of the Annual Conference Standing Committee, and the Program and Arrangement Committee. The Nominating Committee met at the Church of the Brethren General Offices in Elgin, Ill., to structure the ballot for the 2006 Annual Conference, to be held in July in Des Moines, Iowa. The Program and Arrangements Committee adopted a revised set of guidelines for exhibits and literature distributed at Annual Conference.

Nominating Committee chair Bruce Hostetler of South/Central Indiana District extended sincere appreciation to everyone in the denomination who allowed their names to be placed in nomination and to the many people who submitted nominations. Other members of the committee are Kathryn Ludwick of West Marva District, Ron McAdams of Southern Ohio District, Sue Ellen Wheatley of Mid-Atlantic District, Don Fitzkee of Atlantic Northeast District, Mary Anne Whited of Middle Pennsylvania District, Larry Dentler of Southern Pennsyvlania District, and Glenn Bollinger of Shenandoah District. The 2006 ballot will be announced in early March. For more information about the election process, contact Annual Conference executive director Lerry Fogle or Conference secretary Fred Swartz at the Annual Conference Office, 1451 Dundee Ave., Elgin, IL 60120; 800-323-8039.

The Program and Arrangements Committee adopted a revised set of guidelines for exhibits and literature distribution, which were approved by the Annual Conference Council. The guidelines provide a more positive statement about criteria for granting exhibit space, expectations of exhibitors, and general issues related to literature distribution throughout Conference facilities, according to Fogle. The committee “wants to emphasize that the guidelines contain revisions to the existing document; they are not a total rewrite of the original document,” he said.

The Aug. 2005 mailing of exhibitor applications for the 2006 Annual Conference contained the previous version of the policy. Both that version and the revised version were taken into consideration when applications for exhibitor status were reviewed, Fogle said.

The revised guidelines, effective Jan. 3, will be posted soon at, click on “Policies and Guidelines” under “Minutes and Statements.” Questions can be addressed to Fogle at 800-323-8039 ext. 291 or; or write to the Annual Conference Office, 1451 Dundee Ave., Elgin, IL 60120. For more about Annual Conference see

The Church of the Brethren Newsline is produced by Cheryl Brumbaugh-Cayford, director of news services for the Church of the Brethren General Board. Newsline stories may be reprinted if Newsline is cited as the source. Lerry Fogle contributed to this report. To receive Newsline by e-mail write to or call 800-323-8039 ext. 260. Submit news to For more news and features, subscribe to Messenger magazine; call 800-323-8039 ext. 247


[gt-link lang="en" label="English" widget_look="flags_name"]