1 2

## 2. Report: Negotiating and Drafting Agency Covenants

3 After adopting new polity regarding Annual Conference agencies, the 2022 An-4 nual Conference directed Standing Committee and any organization requesting 5 agency status to develop a covenant which acknowledges the agency's organiza-6 tional structure and expectations regarding the agency's role in the life of the 7 denomination before recommending agency status to the delegate body. Further 8 instructions concerning implementation stated that "updated covenant agree-9 ments must be created by Standing Committee with each current agency by the 10 end of two years after the institution of this polity. An additional year will be 11 granted at the request of Standing Committee with the support of the agency." 12 13 At a subsequent meeting, the Standing Committee called a sub-committee com-14 posed of five members tasked with negotiating and drafting agency covenants. 15 Bob Stein, a Standing Committee delegate from the Western Pennsylvania Dis-16 trict, was chosen as Chair. 17 18 Since our initial meeting in January 2023, we have made significant progress to-19 wards our goal. We have developed a common format for present and future 20 agency covenants. Each of the current agencies have reviewed and coordinated 21 their individual versions along the lines of the common format. We are hoping 22 to present draft versions of all three covenants (Bethany Theological Seminary, 23 Eder Financial, and On Earth Peace) to Standing Committee at the 2024 meeting 24 prior to Annual Conference. Further progress updates on this process will be 25 presented at Annual Conference. If the covenants are approved by the Standing 26 Committee this year, the Annual Conference will consider agency status for all 27 three institutions in 2025. We are requesting an additional year to complete our 28 work from the Annual Conference in view of the magnitude of this task. 29 30 On behalf of the committee, this report was respectfully submitted on March 6, 2024. 31 32 Sub-committee Members 33 Myron Jackson (Missouri/Arkansas) 34 Don Shankster (Pacific Southwest) 35 Ellen Wile (Mid-Atlantic) 36 David Young (Southern Plains) 37 Chaired by Bob Stein (Western Pennsylvania) 38 39 40 41 42 43

- 44
- 45
- 46