The Leadership Team of the Church of the Brethren

David Steele

David Steele, convener

General Secretary

Madalyn Metzger

Madalyn Metzger


Dava Hensley

Dava Hensley


David Shumate

David Shumate

Annual Conference Secretary

Torin Eikler

Council of District Executives Representative

Rhonda Pittman Gingrich
(ex officio)

Director of Annual Conference

The Leadership Team provides executive leadership for the committees of Annual Conference and general oversight of Annual Conference. It is a liaison between Annual Conference and Church of the Brethren Inc. The members of the Leadership Team are the three Annual Conference officers (moderator, moderator-elect, and secretary); the general secretary of the Church of the Brethren, who serves as convener; and a district executive appointed by the Council of District Executives.

The Leadership Team serves as executive committee for Annual Conference (AC). It delegates tasks from AC actions, interprets AC decisions and denominational polity, and reviews recommended changes to AC policies and guidelines. Its general oversight of AC is done in consultation with the AC Program and Arrangements Committee and the director of the AC Office. Its oversight of the AC budget is done in consultation with the Mission and Ministry Board (which is the board of directors for the Church of the Brethren, Inc.). Also in consultation with the Mission and Ministry Board, the Leadership Team can propose and review bylaw changes for the corporation. At the invitation of the general secretary, the Leadership Team participates in the hiring and periodic review of the director of the AC Office.

The Leadership Team coordinates denominational envisioning. It is responsible for how denominational vision shall be implemented, giving consideration to emphasizing a unified vision among denomination, districts, and congregations.

Click to read the polity that established the Leadership Team and its functions.

Find the complete Manual of Organization and Polity.