David Sollenberger to serve as moderator-elect, among other election results

David Sollenberger filming during a trip to communities affected by violence in northeast Nigeria.
Photo courtesy of Carl and Roxane Hill

David Sollenberger filming during a trip to communities affected by violence in northeast Nigeria.

In election results, the Annual Conference chose David Sollenberger as moderator-elect after nominations from the floor forced a run-off election for moderator-elect and Mission and Ministry Board Area 4.

For the latest Brethren news go to the main Newsline page

Sollenberger will serve for one year as moderator-elect, and then will serve for a year as moderator, to preside over the 2021 Annual Conference. Sollenberger is a videographer from Annville, Pa., and a member of Mount Wilson Church of the Brethren in Atlantic Northeast District. He has documented decades of conferences of the denomination, including Annual Conference and National Youth Conference, where he has been a speaker. He is known at National Older Adult Conference for the humorous NOAC News. He has produced numerous documentaries about church ministries and history, and has traveled to missions and sisters churches in Nigeria and South Sudan, among others. He has served on the former General Board and on the Vision Interpretation and Implementation Committee for the Church of the Brethren Vision Statement 2012-2020.

Following are more election results. The Conference is scheduled to affirm additional board-elected and constituency-elected appointments and reports of appointments during the Saturday morning business session on July 6.

Annual Conference Program and Arrangements Committee: Carol Hipps Elmore of Salem, Va.

Mission and Ministry Board, Area 4: J. Roger Schrock of McPherson, Kan.; Area 5: Don Morrison of Nampa, Idaho.

Bethany Seminary board of trustees, representing the colleges: Monica Rice of McPherson, Kan.

Brethren Benefit Trust board of directors: Audrey Myer of Elizabethtown, Pa.

On Earth Peace board: Carla L. Gillespie of Tipp City, Ohio.

For more onsite coverage of Annual Conference go to www.brethren.org/ac/2019/coverage . #cobac19

Coverage of Annual Conference 2019 is made possible through the work of news team volunteers and communications staff: Frank Ramirez, Conference Journal editor; photographers Glenn Riegel, Keith Hollenberg, Donna Parcell, and Laura Brown; writers Frances Townsend and Tyler Roebuck; Press Room office manager Alane Riegel; Jan Fischer Bachman and Russ Otto, website; Cheryl Brumbaugh-Cayford, News Services; Wendy McFadden, publisher. Contact cobnews@brethren.org .

Go to www.brethren.org/Newsline to subscribe to the Church of the Brethren Newsline free e-mail news service and receive church news every week.